Waterway Ecosystems

Interactions between landscapes and waterways and development of tools for achieving healthy streams and rivers in urban and rural landscapes.

Academic staff

The following staff are available to supervise honours and masters research in the field of waterway ecosystems.

Professor Tim Fletcher

Research into the interactions between flow regimes, water quality and stream ecosystems, focusing on the management of urban stormwater – both as a threat to streams and as a potential resource.

Email: timf@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Chris Walsh

Studies of the interaction between land use and ecological structure and function of stream ecosystems, the management actions required for ecologically successful stream protection and restoration.

Email: cwalsh@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Geoff Vietz

Research focused on the geomorphology, ecohydraulics and sustainable management of streams and wetlands

Email: g.vietz@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Darren Bos

Research in the methods of community engagement through the Waterway Ecosystems Research Group (WERG), including knowledge exchange initiatives.

Email: dbos@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Samantha Imberger

Studies in the ways to improve the structure and function of urban streams through the application of catchment-scale water sensitive urban design.

Email: samantha.imberger@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Matt Burns

Studies in the modelling and management of flow regimes from site to catchment.

Email: matthew.burns@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Joe Greet

The relationships between water regime and plant life-histories in riparian and wetland environments.

Email: greetj@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Fiona Ede

Studies in the restoration of plant communities in riparian areas, with research in revegetation techniques and invasive species management in both urban and non-urban settings.

Email: fiona.ede@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Yung en Chee

Research using ecological and decision theory, models and methods to provide evidence-based solutions to conservation and ecosystem management problems.

Email: yechee@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Chris Szota

Studies in how plants improve the effectiveness of engineered vegetated systems, like green roofs, street tree pits and raingardens to reduce polluted stormwater entering urban waterways.

Email: cszota@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Kathy Russell